Training

Court Appointed Special Advocate Volunteer training

About four times per year, Passaic County CASA offers a 36-hour training on how to advocate for the best interests of children living in foster care. Training times vary and include both daytime and evening sessions. Volunteers must complete the entire training session. The curriculum includes the following topics: the role of the volunteer, the child welfare system, needs and development of children, trauma, mental health, poverty, professional communication, cultural competence, educational needs, and permanency. 

After the training is complete,  volunteers are sworn in by a family court judge as Court Appointed Special Advocates for children in the Passaic County foster care system.

jesstraining.JPG

Want to join CASA training?
Click
here to fill out the volunteer application.
For more information, contact Director of Outreach and Training Jessica Mickley at 973-832-4002 or at jessica@passaiccountycasa.org.

swearing in 2018 group 1.jpg
swearinginspring2018.JPG
 

Daytime training

Volunteer Training to become a Passaic County Court Appointed Special Advocate will be held starting on Tuesday, March 5, from 9:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m., for six sessions. An additional 6 training hours will be completed through homework and a court observation.

All sessions will be held at the Passaic County CASA Office, located at 415 Hamburg Turnpike, Suite D2, in Wayne. Volunteers must be available to attend the entire training series.

The dates are as follows:

Tuesday, March 5
Thursday, March 7
Monday, March 11
Wednesday, March 13
Friday, March 15

Evening training

Volunteer Training to become a Passaic County Court Appointed Special Advocate will be held Tuesday and Thursday evenings from 6 - 9 p.m., for 10 sessions, beginning on Tuesday, April 30. An additional 6 training hours will be completed through homework and a court observation.

All sessions will be held at the Passaic County CASA Office, located at 415 Hamburg Turnpike, Suite D2, in Wayne. Volunteers must be available to attend the entire training series.

The dates are as follows:

Tuesday, April 30
Thursday, May 2
Tuesday, May 7
Thursday, May 9
Tuesday, May 14
Thursday, May 16
Tuesday, May 21
Thursday, May 23
Tuesday, May 28
Thursday, May 30