Training

Court Appointed Special Advocate Volunteer training

About five times per year, Passaic County CASA offers a 36-hour training on how to advocate for the best interests of children living in foster care. Training times vary and include both daytime and evening sessions. Volunteers must complete the entire training session. The curriculum includes the following topics: the role of the volunteer, the child welfare system, needs and development of children, trauma, mental health, poverty, professional communication, cultural competence, educational needs, and permanency. 

After the training is complete,  volunteers are sworn in by a family court judge as Court Appointed Special Advocates for children in the Passaic County foster care system.

 
swearing in 2018.JPG

Fall 2018 Training  

Volunteer Training to become a Passaic County Court Appointed Special Advocate will be held Tuesdays and Thursdays from 6 - 9 p.m., for 10 sessions, beginning Thursday, Sept. 13. All sessions will be held at the Passaic County CASA Office, located at 415 Hamburg Turnpike, Suite B1, in Wayne. Volunteers must be available to attend the entire training series.

The dates are as follows:

Tuesday, Oct. 2,  6 - 9 p.m.
Thursday, Oct. 4,  6 - 9 p.m.
Tuesday, Oct. 9, 6 - 9 p.m. 
Thursday, Oct. 11, 6 - 9 p.m.
Tuesday, Oct. 16, 6 - 9 p.m.
Thursday, Oct. 18, 6 - 9 p.m. 
Tuesday, Oct. 23, 6 - 9 p.m.
Thursday, Oct. 25, 6 - 9 p.m. 
Tuesday, Oct. 30, 6 - 9 p.m.
Thursday, Nov. 1, 6 - 9 p.m.

For more information about Passaic County CASA's volunteer training, contact Director of Outreach and Training Jessica Mickley at
973-832-4002 or jessica@passaiccountycasa.org.

Ready to start training? Click here to fill out an application so you can be part of the next training class.